Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fao those that are good with cleaning cars.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fao those that are good with cleaning cars.

Tom this might be up your street.

I'm a newbie but want to have a blast at clay barring the daily as the paint isn't smooth.

So I want to clay it, polish then wax, (that's correct?)

So people advertise clay lube. Is there a cheaper alternative?

Cheers

Wash it and then get as much tar off as you can first Andy.

Then just clay it, really easy I just used water in a spray bottle with a tiny bit of quick detailer thrown in.

Start at the top and work your way down.

Then give it a polish and some good quality wax on top.

88 Sapphire RS Cosworth
    53 Focus RS
    05 Mondeo ST TDCI

Comment

Spot on advice above Andy , best get it done ASAP because once that baby comes your not gonna be able to slip off

Comment

If you use the Bilt Hamber clay all you need as lube is water. Bilt Hamber make some really good stuff aswell

Comment

Good thread this i need to do my bm i paid a giy to do the mk2 , also for cleaning like engine bay grime etc is a brush ok with a bit of watered down G101 ?

Comment

Buy two products first.

CarPro's Iron X.
            AutoSmart Tardis.
            Wash car.
            Rinse down.
            Spray with iron X. This will remove fallout, iron contamination etc.
            rinse down thoroughly!
            Spray with Tardis, avoid deals, plastics etc where possible, this will melt tar spots.
            You can use a microfibres lightly but I find leaving it to swell for 2-3 minutes normally melts most of it away, then spray again and wipe down CAREFULLY.

I say to that, because 1. Your less likely to damage paint when your not touching it,
            2. Saves time in your knees claying paintwork